Some states in the nation have legalized marijuana for personal use. However, in Michigan it is still illegal to possess certain amounts of marijuana and to sell marijuana. The following is a brief overview of these crimes that marijuana users in the Wolverine State should be aware of.
In Michigan, there is no penalty for possessing up to 10 ounces of marijuana in the home, or up to 2.5 ounces elsewhere. However, if it is a person’s first offense of possessing more than 2.5 ounces to up to five ounces of marijuana outside the home it is a civil infraction. If a person possesses more than five ounces of marijuana outside the home, and it is a first offense, it is a misdemeanor crime. The penalty for both these crimes is a $500 fine.
There is no penalty for a person to give away less than 2.5 ounces of marijuana without getting anything in return. If a person gives away between 2.5 to five ounces of marijuana without getting anything in return, this is a civil infraction and a person could be fined $500.
However, things grow more serious from there. It is a felony crime in Michigan to sell under five kilograms of marijuana. A person who commits this crime can face four years in prison and a $20,000 fine. If a person sells between five kilograms to 45 kilograms of marijuana, it is a felony crime, the penalty for which is seven years in prison and a $500,000 fine. Finally, it is a felony crime in Michigan to sell 45 kilograms or more of marijuana, the penalty for which is 15 years in prison and a $10,000,000 fine.
Other marijuana crimes in Michigan include growing certain amounts of marijuana plants, selling marijuana paraphernalia and possessing certain amounts of hash and concentrates. Ultimately, while marijuana laws have been relaxed in some circumstances, in many cases it is still illegal to possess or sell marijuana. Those who are facing such drug charges will want to seek the help they need to develop a solid defense strategy.