Menu
Search
 

Our Legal Blog

Home
-
News
-
Assault
-
Penalties for an Assault Conviction in Michigan
Free Initial Consultation
awards-img1awards-img2

Categories

Penalties for an Assault Conviction in Michigan

It can be very easy for a simple misunderstanding to escalate into a physical altercation. Before you know it, you’re facing an assault charge and are unsure of what to do about it. 

A Michigan assault charge can carry serious fines and penalties. If convicted, you could be imprisoned and have a felony on your criminal record. You need a Michigan criminal defense attorney to help defend you against an assault charge. 

What is Assault?

In Michigan, assault is defined as an attempt to cause physical injury to someone else. More specifically, it is an intentional unlawful act or threatening action if the offender appears to have the ability to carry it out, and such an act would cause a reasonable person to fear impending violence. 

A closely related but separate crime is battery. Battery is a completed assault. In other words, it is the intentional infliction of violence against another individual.

Two other types of assault are felonious assault and domestic violence assault. Felonious assault includes an assault and battery committed with the intent to murder or greatly harm the victim or an assault that involves a weapon. Domestic violence assault is an assault committed against people like a spouse, former spouse, or someone you are currently dating. 

Michigan Assault Conviction Penalties

The penalties for an assault conviction in Michigan can vary based on many factors. Some of those factors include:

  • The severity of the victim’s injuries
  • Your relationship with the victim
  • Whether a weapon was involved
  • Prior convictions
  • Whether you were in the process of another criminal act
  • Your intent to harm the victim

An assault without a dangerous weapon is a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 93 days in jail, a fine of up to $500, or both.

Someone convicted of aggravated assault and battery faces a felony and the following potential penalties:

Up to one year in jail, a fine up to $1,000, or both

  • Up to two years of probation
  • Restitution

If you were in a domestic relationship with the victim, you could face a domestic violence assault and battery charge. The possible penalties depend on your conviction history.

First conviction

  • Up to 93 days in jail, a fine of up to $500, or both
  • Probation up to two years
  • Restitution

Second conviction

  • Up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both
  • Up to two years of probation
  • Restitution

Third conviction or more (felony)

  • Up to two years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000 or both
  • Probation up to five years
  • Restitution

Aggravated domestic assault and battery is a felony for a first conviction, and a conviction comes with the same penalties as those for aggravated assault and battery.

Call a Michigan Criminal Defense Attorney Today to Schedule a Free Consultation

If you are facing an assault charge in Michigan, you need the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Call us today at 248-932-0100 or contact us online.

Share This Post :
facebooktwitterLinkedIn
To Schedule A Free Initial Consultation Call Me At
248-932-0100 Or

Reviews

Call Now Button