Menu
Search
 

Our Legal Blog

Home
-
News
-
Criminal Defense
-
Understanding Domestic Violence Charges in Michigan
Free Initial Consultation
awards-img1awards-img2

Categories

Understanding Domestic Violence Charges in Michigan

The Law Offices of Bradley J. Friedman represents many clients who have been charged with domestic violence, and we’ve seen the process they must go through and the repercussions they tend to face. The state of Michigan has its own unique way of handling those who are charged with domestic violence and has its own procedures in place for the alleged victims to seek relief and retribution. 

Important Facts About Domestic Violence Charges in Michigan

Domestic violence is an unlawful act committed when a person uses physical, sexual, or emotional abuse to control someone with a specific relationship to the abuser. Under the statute, such relationships include current or former spouses, children, intimate partners, family members, or household members. This crime is charged similarly to other instances of assault and battery.

Michigan varies in how it charges individuals guilty of a domestic assault or battery upon someone in their household with whom they have a special relationship. Michigan uses two classifications of domestic violence: domestic assault and aggravated domestic assault. The penalties for domestic assault are:

  • 1st Offense: (Misdemeanor): Up to 93 days in jail and fines up to $500
  • 2nd Offense: (Misdemeanor): Up to 1 year in jail and fines up to $1,000
  • 3rd Offense: (Felony): Up to 5 years in prison and fines up to $5,000

To qualify as aggravated domestic assault, the victim of the domestic violence must receive serious or aggravated injuries that require medical attention. The penalties for aggravated domestic assault according to the statute are:

  • 1st Offense (Misdemeanor):  Up to 1 Year in Jail and a $1,000 fine.
  • 2nd Offense (Felony):  Up to 2 Years in Prison and/or a $2,5000 fine

Thus, the lesson to be learned from these sentencing guidelines is to always avoid a first conviction whenever possible. If you were previously convicted of domestic assault, make sure to never place yourself in such a situation again. The penalties are meant to quickly escalate in severity to punish habitual abusers, so if you get charged once, seek help, if necessary, to help you control yourself and avoid making the same mistake again. 

Those accused of domestic assault can also be subject to protective orders, which can substantially limit your freedom. An order can force you to move, avoid contact with your children or close family members, prevent you from possessing a firearm, and much more. 

Speak with a Michigan Domestic Violence Defense Attorney

The Law Offices of Bradley J. Friedman has made it our business to ensure that those who are charged under Michigan’s domestic violence statutes have their rights and interests protected by competent legal representation. We fight tooth and nail to make sure to minimize the penalties and repercussions you may face following a domestic violence charge. To learn how we can help you navigate through the complicated process of defending against a domestic violence criminal charge, contact us by visiting our website today for a free consultation.

Share This Post :
facebooktwitterLinkedIn
To Schedule A Free Initial Consultation Call Us At
248-932-0100 Or

Reviews

TAP HERE TO CALL
We Will Fight For You.
Call Now Button